Under the Withdrawal Agreement, the United Kingdom formally leaves the EU on 31.01.2020 at midnight (Swiss time). This marks the beginning of the so-called "transition period", which is renewable and will last at least until the end of 2020. During this period, the United Kingdom remains part of the European Single Market and the Customs Union. The bilateral agreements between Switzerland and the EU will also continue to apply to the United Kingdom. Thus, there will be no changes in customs matters until at least the end of 2020. The trade agreement between Switzerland and the United Kingdom will enter into force on 01.01.2021 at the earliest.

Additional information can be found on the websites of the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) and the Directorate for European Affairs (DEA). 

For further information on entry and residence in Switzerland and the United Kingdom in connection with Brexit, please contact the SEM website.