New phytosanitary provisions effective from 1 January 2020

The new Plant Health Ordinance of the Federal Office for Agriculture will come into force on 1 January 2020. This is intended to prevent the introduction of dangerous pests and plant diseases.

To achieve this goal, the importation of living plant material such as plants, fruit, vegetables, cut flowers, seeds, tubers, roots, leaves, etc. from third countries is now possible only with phytosanitary certification. Ask in the exporting country where you can obtain a phytosanitary certificate.

Third countries include all non-EU states, as well as the Canary Islands, Ceuta, Melilla and the French overseas territories.
The following fruits may continue to be imported from third countries without phytosanitary certification: pineapples, coconuts, durian, bananas and dates.

Further information