Test purchases

Practice

The law prohibits the sale of beer and wine to young people under the age of 16 and spirits to persons under the age of 18 (in Canton Ticino, the sale of all alcoholic beverages is prohibited to persons under the age of 18).

The main purpose of the test purchases is prevention, as they serve to make sales staff aware of the ban on handing out alcoholic beverages to young people under 16 or 18 years of age. In the absence of a legal basis, the results of these purchases cannot be used as evidence in criminal proceedings or lead to the imposition of a fine. They may, however, be followed by administrative measures such as the withdrawal of the patent. Test purchases are carried out both by private institutions and by the authorities.

The Federal Customs Administration publishes an annual report on the practice of alcohol test purchases in Switzerland.

Results 2019

In 2019, roughly 20.3 percent of alcoholic beverages were sold to persons under the minimum age set by law.

This represents a sharp decline in illicit sales, with a significant drop between 2018 and 2019, with rates going from to 28.3 percent and 20.3 percent respectively. Compared to 2016, this even represents a decrease of 10 percentage points.

The number of test purchases made in Switzerland decreased from 7926 in 2018 to 6534 in 2019.

Results vary according to the points of sale

As in previous years, mistakenly dispensed alcohol sales rates vary according to the type of point of sale. Service stations show the best results, with just over 10 percent of sales being illegal. This is followed by restaurants/cafés and chain shops and large discounters (about 20 percent). Offence rate is and remains highest at the parties and events as well as the bar category (more than 30 percent).

And the number of buyers

Furthermore, the analysis of the results shows on the one hand that the older the buyers are, the higher the share of illegal sales, which makes relative sense. On the other hand, it also shows an interesting development: groups have easier access to alcohol than individual buyers. For example, a 14 year old alone has access to alcohol in 21.7 percent of cases and in 28.5 percent of cases if he is in a group. The same is true for all ages represented by test buyers (13 to 17 years old).

Guidelines

As a reference for the whole of Switzerland, the test purchasing guide contains many practical guidelines. These allow cantons, communes, cities and non-governmental organisations to carry out their test purchases on an identical basis and to compare the data collected with the results of other authorities. The guide includes the projects and foundations that the Blue Cross, cantonal authorities and prevention organisations have created and that have already proven their worth in the field.

Electronic platform for data entry

Used throughout Switzerland, the www.tkdb.ch platform is based on a Blue Cross model. It allows for coordinated and standardised data entry.

The platform makes it possible to develop questionnaires and select topics according to the various target groups. It can also be used for test purchases of other products such as games or cigarettes. Security is guaranteed because the data is stored in a space reserved for users.

Contact

Alcohol and tobacco division

Federal Customs Administration
Alcohol and tobacco division
Route de la Mandchourie 25
2800 Delémont

Tel.
+41 58 462 65 00
Fax
+41 58 463 18 28

khw@ezv.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.ezv.admin.ch/content/ezv/en/home/themen/alcohol/praevention_jugendschutz/praeventionsinstrumente/testkaeufe.html

Testkäufe

Praxis

Das Gesetz verbietet den Verkauf von Bier und Wein an Personen unter 16 Jahren und von Spirituosen an Personen unter 18 Jahren (im Kanton Tessin werden alle alkoholischen Getränke nur an Personen ab 18 Jahren verkauft).

Hauptzweck der Testkäufe ist die Prävention. Sie sollen das Verkaufspersonal auf das Verbot der Abgabe von alkoholischen Getränken an Jugendliche unter 16 respektive 18 Jahren aufmerksam zu machen. In Ermangelung einer gesetzlichen Grundlage können die Ergebnisse dieser Käufe nicht als Beweismittel in Strafverfahren verwendet werden oder zur Verhängung einer Geldstrafe führen. Ihnen können jedoch Verwaltungsmassnahmen wie die Rücknahme des Wirtepatents folgen. Testkäufe werden sowohl von privaten Institutionen als auch von den Behörden durchgeführt.

Die Eidgenössische Zollverwaltung veröffentlicht jährlich einen Bericht über die Praxis der Alkoholtestkäufe in der Schweiz.

Ergebnisse 2019

Im Jahr 2019 wurden etwa 20,3 Prozent aller alkoholischen Getränke an Personen verkauft, die das gesetzlich festgelegte Mindestalter noch nicht erreicht hatten.

Dies bedeutet einen starken Rückgang der illegalen Verkäufe von 28,3 Prozent im Jahr 2018 auf 20,3 Prozent im 2019. Im Vergleich zu 2016 sind die illegalen Verkäufe sogar um ganze 10 Prozent zurückgegangen.

Jedoch sank die Zahl der in der Schweiz getätigten Testkäufe von 7926 im Jahr 2018 auf 6534 im Jahr 2019.

Die Ergebnisse variieren je nach Verkaufsstelle

Wie in den vergangenen Jahren gab es Unterschiede bezüglich den Verkaufsraten je nach Art der Verkaufsstelle, in der Alkohol abgegeben wurde. Tankstellen erzielten das beste Ergebnis. Hier wurden etwas mehr als 10 Prozent des verkauften Alkohols an Minderjährige abgegeben. Es folgen Restaurants, Kaffees, Ladenketten und grosse Pfändungskäufer mit einer Quote von etwa 20 Prozent illegaler Verkäufe. Die Anzahl der Verstösse ist und bleibt am höchsten bei Partys und Events sowie in Bars und Kneipen (über 30 Prozent illegaler Verkäufe von Alkohol).

…und nach Anzahl der Käufer

Darüber hinaus zeigt die Analyse der Ergebnisse zum einen, dass der Anteil der illegalen Verkäufe umso höher ist, je älter die Testkäufer sind. Auf der anderen Seite zeigt sich aber auch eine interessante Entwicklung: Gruppen haben leichteren Zugang zu Alkohol als einzelne Käufer. So wurde beispielsweise einem 14-jährigen Testkäufer in 21,7 Prozent aller Fälle Alkohol verkauft, wenn er alleine war, jedoch in 28,5 Prozent aller Fälle, wenn er mit einer Gruppe von Kameraden zusammen einkaufte. Dasselbe gilt für alle Altersgruppen, die durch Testkäufer vertreten sind (13 bis 17-Jährige).

Leitfaden

Das Handbuch für Testkäufe dient als Standardwerk für die ganze Schweiz und enthält zahlreiche praktische Anleitungen. So verwenden Kantone, Gemeinden und NGOs die gleiche Basis für ihre Testkäufe und können die erhobenen Daten schweizweit vergleichen. Das Handbuch enthält die Konzepte und Grundlagen, die von den Organisationen im Präventionsbereich, den kantonalen Instanzen und dem Blauen Kreuz entwickelt wurden und sich bewährt haben.

Web-Plattform für die Erfassung der Daten

Die Plattform www.tkdb.ch basiert auf einem Modell des Blauen Kreuzes. Sie sorgt für eine koordinierte und einheitliche Erfassung der Daten in der ganzen Schweiz.

Mithilfe der Plattform können Fragebögen erarbeitet und Rubriken nach Zielgruppe ausgewählt werden. Die Plattform lässt sich auch für Testkäufe anderer Produkte wie Zigaretten oder Spiele nutzen. Die Daten sind in geschützten Bereichen abgelegt, sodass deren Sicherheit gewährleistet ist.

Kontakt

Abteilung Alkohol und Tabak

Eidgenössische Zollverwaltung
Abteilung Alkohol und Tabak
Sektion Alkoholmarkt und Werbung
Route de la Mandchourie 25
2800 Delémont

Tel.
+41 58 462 65 00
Fax
+41 58 463 18 28

khw@ezv.admin.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.ezv.admin.ch/content/ezv/de/home/themen/alcohol/praevention_jugendschutz/praeventionsinstrumente/testkaeufe.html