Agricultural producers

In the Alcohol Act, farmers are defined as people running an agricultural operation with at least one hectare of eligible land under cultivation, or 50 ares in the case of those growing special crops, or 30 ares in the case of those with vines in steep and terraced areas.

Farmers are allowed to process only raw materials which they have grown themselves on their own agricultural land or which they have foraged themselves in Switzerland. The raw materials must be processed in their own home distillery or in contract distilleries.

Agricultural distiller's licences

An agricultural distiller's licence can be issued only in connection with existing distillery equipment. Moreover, the licence is tied to the agricultural operation (distillery building). If the farm changes ownership, the distiller's licence passes to the new owner of the farm. The new owner must meet the FCA's requirements for classification as a farmer.

Tax (Art. 22 ff. of the AlcO)

As a general rule, spirits required in agricultural operations are not subject to tax. The maximum permissible amount is calculated annually according to various criteria based on farm data from the Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG). For spirits that are used for purposes other than in the household or on the farm, the corresponding tax must be paid. Farmers must submit an annual online declaration detailing the spirits transferred and the final stock. You can find the instructions here.

If you do not wish to fill out an annual declaration, you can voluntarily give up your classification as farmer and apply to be reclassified as a small producer. Small producers receive an annual tax rebate.

The tax assessment is done largely according to the self-declaration principle. If annual production exceeds 200 litres of pure alcohol, agricultural operations become subject to commercial controls and have to keep spirits accounts.

This page contains useful information and forms for farmers.

Contact

Federal Customs Administration
Alcohol and tobacco division
Route de la Mandchourie 25
2800 Delémont

Tel.
+41 58 462 65 00
Fax
+41 58 463 18 28

spirituosen@ezv.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.ezv.admin.ch/content/ezv/en/home/themen/alcohol/inlandproduktion/landwirtschaftliche_produktion.html

Landwirtschaftliche Produktion

Als Landwirtinnen und Landwirte gelten nach der Alkoholgesetzgebung jene Personen, die einen Betrieb mit mindestens einer Hektare, bei Betrieben mit Spezialkulturen mit mindestens 50 Aren und bei Betrieben mit Reben in Steil- und Terrassenlagen mit mindestens 30 Aren anrechenbarer Nutzfläche bewirtschaften.

Landwirtinnen und Landwirte dürfen nur Eigengewächs von ihrem selbst bewirtschafteten Boden oder selber gesammeltes inländisches Wildgewächs verarbeiten. Die Rohstoffe werden in eigenen Hausbrennereien oder in Lohnbrennereien verarbeitet.

Konzession für landwirtschaftliche Brennereien

Eine Konzession für eine landwirtschaftliche Brennerei kann nur für eine bestehende Brennanlage erteilt werden. Die Konzession ist zudem an den Landwirtschaftsbetrieb (Brennereiliegenschaft) gebunden. Wechselt der Betrieb den Besitzer, geht das Brennrecht an den neuen Besitzer oder die neue Besitzerin des Betriebs über. Der neue Bewirtschafter oder die Bewirtschafterin muss die von der EZV geforderten Bedingungen an einen Landwirt bzw. an eine Landwirtin erfüllen.

Steuerbelastung (Art. 22 AlkV ff)

Grundsätzlich sind Spirituosen, die im landwirtschaftlichen Betrieb benötigt werden, steuerfrei. Die maximal zulässige Menge wird jährlich aufgrund verschiedener Kriterien berechnet. Die Basis dafür bilden die landwirtschaftlichen Betriebsdaten des Bundesamts für Landwirtschaft (BLW). Für Spirituosen, die anderweitig als in Haus und Hof verbraucht werden, muss die entsprechende Steuer bezahlt werden. Landwirtinnen und Landwirte müssen jedes Jahr in einer Jahreserklärung die weitergegebenen Spirituosen und den Endvorrat online erfassen. Eine entsprechende Anleitung dazu finden Sie hier.

Wer keine Jahreserklärung ausfüllen möchte kann jederzeit auf die Einteilung als Landwirtin oder als Landwirt verzichten und sich zum Kleinproduzenten umteilen lassen. Eine Kleinproduzentin oder ein Kleinproduzent erhält jährlich einen Steuerrabatt.

Die Steuerveranlagung erfolgt weitgehend nach dem Prinzip der Selbstdeklaration. Bei einer Jahresproduktion von über 200 Liter reinen Alkohols werden landwirtschaftliche Betriebe der gewerblichen Kontrolle unterstellt und müssen eine Spirituosenbuchhaltung führen.

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie nützliche Informationen und Formulare für Landwirtinnen und Landwirte.

Kontakt

Eidgenössische Zollverwaltung
Abteilung Alkohol und Tabak
Sektion Spirituosensteuer
Route de la Mandchourie 25
2800 Delémont

Tel.
+41 58 462 65 00
Fax
+41 58 463 18 28

spirituosen@ezv.admin.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.ezv.admin.ch/content/ezv/de/home/themen/alcohol/inlandproduktion/landwirtschaftliche_produktion.html