Importation into Switzerland

The regulations and formalities depend on whether you wish to:

 
 

Using an uncleared vehicle temporarily in Switzerland

Whether you may use an uncleared vehicle in Switzerland depends, among other things, on the purpose for which you intend to use the vehicle and whether you are resident or headquartered in Switzerland or abroad.

Ban on inland transport (cabotage)

Inland transport is when you:

  • Both pick up and drop off individuals within Switzerland and a fee is paid for their carriage in any form. The amount paid and who pays it is not decisive;
  • Accept/load/hitch goods within the context of an economic activity in Switzerland, as well as drop them off/unload/unhitch them.

In principle, you may not use an uncleared vehicle for inland transport within Switzerland. You must spontaneously declare any such vehicle(s) for permanent importation to Swiss Customs at the border. Special regulations only apply in a few cases. 

 
 

Companies with registered office in Switzerland

In principle, you may not use an uncleared vehicle in Switzerland. You must spontaneously declare any uncleared vehicle(s) for permanent importation to Swiss Customs at the border. Special regulations only apply in a few cases. 

 
 

Companies with registered office abroad

You may use an uncleared vehicle only for a limited period of time and only for cross-border transport in Switzerland. You must return the vehicle abroad as soon as the transport for which it was imported has ended.

General information on the temporary use of goods can be found under Temporary importation.

Information on repairing, converting and enhancing an uncleared vehicle can be found under Processing traffic

 
 

Offences

If you use an uncleared vehicle in Switzerland without authorisation or do not comply with formalities, you must pay the import duties for the vehicle (customs duty, automobile duty, value added tax) retroactively. In addition, you must be prepared for criminal customs proceedings to be initiated. 

 
 
https://www.ezv.admin.ch/content/ezv/en/home/information-firmen/transport--reisedokument--strassenabgaben/transportvorschriften/einfuhr-in-die-schweiz.html

Einfuhr in die Schweiz

Die Vorschriften und Formalitäten hängen davon ab, ob Sie das Fahrzeug:

 

Unverzolltes Fahrzeug vorübergehend in der Schweiz benutzen

Ob Sie ein unverzolltes Fahrzeug in der Schweiz benutzen dürfen, hängt unter anderem davon ab, zu welchem Zweck Sie das Fahrzeug einsetzen wollen und ob Sie Ihren Sitz/Wohnsitz in der Schweiz oder im Ausland haben.

Binnentransportverbot (Kabotage)

Um einen Binnentransport handelt es sich, wenn Sie:

  • Personen im Inland sowohl aufnehmen als auch absetzen und für die Beförderung in irgendeiner Form ein Entgelt entrichtet wird. Die Höhe des Entgelts und wer dieses bezahlt ist nicht massgebend;
  • Waren im Rahmen einer wirtschaftlichen Tätigkeit im Inland aufnehmen/aufladen/anhängen als auch absetzen/abladen/abhängen.

Sie dürfen grundsätzlich kein unverzolltes Fahrzeug für Binnentransporte benutzen. Solche Fahrzeuge müssen Sie an der Grenze beim Schweizer Zoll unaufgefordert zur definitiven Einfuhr anmelden. Spezialregelungen sind lediglich in wenigen Fällen vorgesehen. 

 

Unternehmen mit Sitz in der Schweiz

Sie dürfen grundsätzlich kein unverzolltes Fahrzeug benutzen. Unverzollte Fahrzeuge müssen Sie an der Grenze beim Schweizer Zoll unaufgefordert zur definitiven Einfuhr anmelden. Spezialregelungen sind lediglich in wenigen Fällen vorgesehen.

 

Unternehmen mit Sitz im Ausland

Sie dürfen ein unverzolltes Fahrzeug nur während einer beschränkten Zeit und nur für grenzüberschreitende Transporte in der Schweiz benutzen. Das Fahrzeug müssen Sie wieder in Ausland zurückbringen, sobald die Beförderung beendet ist, für die es eingeführt worden ist.

Allgemeine Informationen zur vorübergehenden Verwendung von Waren finden Sie unter Vorübergehende Einfuhr.

Informationen zu Reparatur, Umbau und Veredelung eines unverzollten Fahrzeugs finden Sie unter Aktiver Veredelungsverkehr

 

Widerhandlungen

Wenn Sie unberechtigt ein unverzolltes Fahrzeug in der Schweiz benutzen oder Formalitäten nicht einhalten, müssen Sie die Einfuhrabgaben für das Fahrzeug (Zoll, Automobilsteuer, Mehrwertsteuer) nachentrichten. Zudem müssen Sie mit der Einleitung eines Zollstrafverfahrens rechnen. 

 
https://www.ezv.admin.ch/content/ezv/de/home/information-firmen/transport--reisedokument--strassenabgaben/transportvorschriften/einfuhr-in-die-schweiz.html