Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator

Print version Print | share:    


Importation into Switzerland

When you enter Switzerland, personal effects, travelling provisions and fuel in the tank of your vehicle are tax and duty-free. For other goods being carried, VAT and duty will be levied depending on their total value (over CHF 300) and according to the quantity. However, duty will only be levied on foodstuffs, tobacco, alcohol and fuel. Please note that not all goods are allowed to be imported. Further information can be found under bans and restrictions.

Goods exempt from tax and duty

When you return from abroad or enter Switzerland, you may import the following goods tax and duty-free:

Personal effects
These include personal effects which:

  • people living in Switzerland take along when going abroad;
  • persons living abroad use during their stay in Switzerland and re-export when they leave.

Included, for instance, are items of clothing, underwear, toiletries, sports gear, photo and film cameras, camcorders, mobile phones, portable computers and musical instruments.

Travelling provisions
Foodstuff ready to eat and non-alcoholic beverages for the day of travelling.

Fuel
Fuel that is in the tank of private vehicles is tax and duty-free. Additional fuel (e.g. in a spare fuel can) up to a maximum of 25 litres is also tax and duty-free. The allowances are granted only once per vehicle per day. More information

Other goods

Other goods for your personal use or intended as gifts can be imported exempt from customs duty and VAT so long as you can answer no to the questions in the two sections in the following chart.

From 1 July 2014, there are new provisions for goods which you import into Switzerland. You can check in two steps whether or not you will have to pay duty and how much duty you will have to pay:<br /> <br /> 1. Does the total value of all goods exceed CHF 300?<br /> No: exempt from VAT.<br /> Yes: VAT due on the total value.<br /> <br /> 2. Have the duty-free allowances been exceeded?<br /> No: duty-free.<br /> Yes: the excess quantities are dutiable:<br /> More than 1 kg of meat and meat products: CHF 17 per kg<br /> More than 1 kg/litre of butter or cream: CHF 16 per kg/litre<br /> More than 5 kg/litres of oil, fats or margarine: CHF 2 per kg/litre<br /> More than 5 litres of alcoholic beverages with an alcohol content by volume of up to 18%: CHF 2 per litre<br /> More than 1 litre of alcoholic beverages with an alcohol content by volume of more than 18%: CHF 15 per litre<br /> More than 250 units of cigarettes/cigars: CHF 0.25 per unit<br /> More than 250 grammes of other tobacco products: CHF 0.10 per gramme

Note: The importation of animal products coming from countries other than EU states and Norway is prohibited.

Further information on the VAT-free limit of CHF 300 and the duty-free allowances.

Refund of foreign VAT

We are unable to refund foreign VAT. Information on this and on other countries' duty-free allowances can be obtained from the WCO ((Link WZO)) or from the corresponding foreign representation in Switzerland. More

Restrictions

Please note that certain goods (e.g. counterfeits, weapons and certain plants, animals, animal products and goods subject to species protection) may also be subject to import bans or to specific restrictions. Further information

Other information which must be heeded when entering Switzerland can be found at the following links:


Search in this section





End Content Area

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator

zur Druckversion Drucken | Teilen:     


Einfuhr in die Schweiz

Wenn Sie in die Schweiz einreisen, sind persönliche Gebrauchsgegenstände, Reiseproviant und Treibstoff im Tank Ihres Fahrzeugs abgabenfrei. Für die anderen mitgeführten Waren werden je nach deren Gesamtwert die Mehrwertsteuer (ab 300 Franken) und je nach deren Menge Zölle erhoben. Zölle werden jedoch nur auf Lebensmittel, Tabak, Alkohol und Treibstoff erhoben. Beachten Sie, dass nicht alle Waren eingeführt werden dürfen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Verbote und Beschränkungen.

Abgabenfreie Waren

Wenn Sie aus dem Ausland zurückkehren oder wenn Sie in die Schweiz reisen, dürfen Sie folgende Waren abgabenfrei einführen:

Persönliche Gebrauchsgegenstände
Darunter fallen Gebrauchsgegenstände, welche:

  • in der Schweiz wohnhafte Personen bei der Ausreise mitgenommen haben;;

  • im Ausland wohnhafte Personen während des Aufenthaltes in der Schweiz benützen und wieder ausführen.

Dazu gehören z.B. Kleider, Wäsche, Toilettenartikel, Sportgeräte, Foto-, Film- und Videokameras, Mobiltelefone, tragbare Computer und Musikinstrumente.

Reiseproviant
Genussfertige Nahrungsmittel und alkoholfreie Getränke für den Reisetag.

Treibstoff
Treibstoff, der sich im Tank von Privatfahrzeugen befindet, ist abgabenfrei. Zusätzlicher Treibstoff (z.B. in Reservekanister) ist bis maximal 25 Liter ebenfalls abgabenfrei. Die Freimengen werden nur einmal pro Fahrzeug und Tag gewährt Mehr Informationen

Andere Waren

Andere Waren zu Ihrem privaten Gebrauch oder zum Verschenken können mehrwertsteuer- und zollfrei eingeführt werden, sofern Sie die Fragen der zwei Schritte im nachfolgenden Schema mit „Nein" beantworten können:

Für Waren, die Sie in die Schweiz einführen, gelten ab 1.7.2014 neue Bestimmungen. In zwei Schritten können Sie prüfen, ob und wie viel Abgaben Sie bezahlen müssen:<br /> <br /> 1. Übersteigt der Gesamtwert aller Waren 300 Franken?<br /> Nein: Mehrwertsteuerfrei.<br /> Ja: Mehrwertsteuer auf Gesamtwert.<br /> <br /> 2. Werden die Freimengen überschritten?<br /> Nein: Zollfrei.<br /> Ja: Die Mehrmengen sind zollpflichtig:<br /> Über 1 kg Fleisch und Fleischzubereitungen: CHF 17.- je kg;<br /> Über 1 kg oder Liter Butter, Rahm: CHF 16.- je kg/l;<br /> Über 5 kg oder Liter Öle, Fette, Margarine: CHF 2.- je kg/l;<br /> Über 5 Liter alkoholische Getränke bis 18 % Vol.: CHF 2.- je l;<br /> Über 1 Liter alkoholische Getränke über 18 % Vol.: CHF 15.- je l;<br /> Über 250 Stück Zigaretten/Zigarren: CHF -.25 pro Stück;<br /> Über 250 Gramm andere Tabakfabrikate: CHF -.10 pro Gramm.

Hinweis: Die Einfuhr von Tierprodukten aus anderen als EU-Staaten und als Norwegen ist verboten.

Weitere Informationen zur Wertfreigrenze 300.- und zu den Freimengen .

Rückerstattung ausländische Mehrwertsteuer

Die ausländische MWST können wir Ihnen nicht zurückerstatten. Auskunft dazu und zu abgabenfreien Mengen anderer Länder, erhalten Sie über die  Informationen der WZO oder bei der entsprechenden ausländischen Vertretung in der Schweiz.

Beschränkungen

Bitte beachten Sie, dass bestimmte Waren (z.B. gewisse Pflanzen, Tiere, Waren, die dem Artenschutz unterliegen, Fälschungen, Waffen, usw.) zur Einfuhr verboten oder gewissen Beschränkungen unterliegen. Mehr

Weitere Informationen, die Sie bei der Einreise in die Schweiz beachten müssen, finden Sie unter den folgenden Links:


Suche in dieser Rubrik





Ende Inhaltsbereich